USA Archery Logo

September 01, 2009

FITA President Re-Elected

A very appreciative Prof Dr Erdener, who was elected as an IOC Member in 2008, proposed to re-appoint Tom Dielen as FITA Secretary General. He was warmly applauded by the FITA Congress delegates. Prof Dr Erdener (TUR) and Tom Dielen (BEL) will carry their second 4-year mandate with one goal in mind: continue the successful World Archery Plan.

Philippe Bouclet (FRA) and Sanguan Kosavinta (THA) were also re-elected as FITA Vice-Presidents. Vladimir Esheev (RUS), Mario Scarzella (ITA) and Trudy Medved (AUT) will continue their mission in the Council and Kotaro Hata (JPN) will join them.

World Archery Plan

The World Archery Plan is a long-term strategic plan that intends to make archery an internationally recognized and important Olympic Sport.

Since 2007, the world of archery is working on five targets: Identity, Events, Promotion, Partnerships and Expansion. Focus groups have been tackling the various aspects of the plans with concrete actions, for example:

  • Define values and image of archery.
  • Launch the Word Archery brand (the flagship product of archery) and have FITA as the producer.
  • A greater identity plan for Recurve and Compound for a better future for both disciplines.

As in the 2007 congress in Leipzig, delegates had the chance to give input on the World Archery Plan and the upcoming areas to work on for the promotion, partnership and expansions targets. The World Archery Plan is a democratic plan with a concrete evolution that moves archery forward.


Congress ratified the agreement between FITA and the International Paralympic Committee for the governance of para-archery and a new Para-Archery Committee was created with the following FITA persons elected: Marco Carppignano (ITA), Rita Van Driel (NED), Carole Hicks (NZL) and Hans-Peter Werlen (SUI).

The chairwoman of the former transition committee, Ann Webb (GBR) was appointed as Honorary Chairwoman of the Committee-a well deserved recognition for her many years involvement in para-archery.

The elections continued with committee positions and the following persons were elected:

Technical Committee: Don Rabska (USA), Guo Bei (CHN), Jonathan Shales (GBR), James Larven (AUS), Chiu Ping-Kun (TPE)

Target Archery: Andreas Lorenz (GER), Vicente Martinez (ESA) Simon Wee (SIN)

Medical & Sport Science: Martin Bauer (GER), Ermin Ergen (TUR), Carlos Hermes (GUA), Nancy Littke (CAN), Varin Tansuphasiri (THA)

Field Archery: Tom Green (USA)

The President also appointed with the approval of Congress the three members of the new audit board: Bob Smith (USA), Rolf Lind (DEN) and Joerg Brokamp (GER).

Awards and Plaquettes
The awards for Gender Equity were given for the first time at this congress and they went to:

Russian Archery Federation - 1st place
Archery GB (Great Britain) - 2nd place
Italian Archery Federation - 3rd place

FITA also honored several of its outstanding volunteers and officials by giving the FITA Plaquettes and award.

The Golden Arrow award: Werner Beiter (GER)

Bronze Plaquettes: Renato Doni (ITA), Tonny McLoughlin (IRL), Carole Hicks (NZL)

Silver Plaquettes: Kahraman Bagatir (TUR), Alojz Mauser (CRO), Trudy Medwed (AUT), Morten William (NOR), Xiuzhi Zhang (CHN), Kotaro Hata (JPN)

Gold Plaquette: Professor Dr. Ugur Erdener, FITA President and IOC Member

"We have made some great progress in the last few years and we created a great team atmosphere at FITA," said Erdener. "The long-term success of the World Archery Plan depends on every one of us. I really mean every one of us, from the congress delegates to the people working for the Member Associations and even at club level. Every one is a part of the World Archery Plan. I hope now everybody sees it in him or herself and I would like to thank everyone for their involvement so far".

FITA has his sight on a bright future.

< Back to All News

A thank you to our proud sponsors

View All Sponsors

Connect With Us