USA Archery Logo

Coach of the Year Awards

USA Archery issues a variety of Coach awards including National Coach of the Year, Developmental Coach of the Year, Volunteer Coach of the Year, Paralympic Coach of the Year and the Doc Councilman "Science" Award.


Club Excellence Award

USA Archery’s Club Excellence Awards are designed to recognize the outstanding work of our club programs across the country in the categories of:  

    • Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Access 
    • Event Hosting 
    • Club Excellence 
    • Member Growth 
    • USA Archery Club of the Year  

Shenk Award

The Shenk Award, established in 1980 in honor of former NAA President Clayton Shenk, is presented to the senior male and female archer in the recurve division with the highest combined scores in the U.S. National Indoor, Field and Target Nationals for that year.

Easton Award

The Easton Award, named in honor of former World Archery President James Easton, awards the top male and female compound senior archers who have the highest combined total score in the U.S. National Indoor, Field and Target Nationals for that year.

Barebow Award

The Barebow Award, established in 2024 is presented to the senior male and female archer in the barebow division with the highest combined scores in the U.S. National Indoor, Field and Target Nationals for that year.

Thompson Award

This award was founded in 1939 to honor the NAA's first President, J. Maurice Thompson. It is given to those who have rendered outstanding and meritorious service to archery without expectation of award. It is one of the most cherished honors USA Archery offers.

Year Name
1939 Paul Klopsted
1940 Louis Smith
1941 Korekoyo Duryee
1942 Henry Cummings
1943 Karl Palmatier
1944 John Yount
1945 Harold Titcomb
1947 W. Burton Westcott
1948 Robert Elmer
1949 Roy Case
1950 Clarence Hickman
1953 Ray and Bea Hodgson
1957 Paul Crouch
1959 Clayton Shenk
1963 Howard Hill
1966 Wade Kirkwood
1968 Carry Brownell
1972 Doug Easton
1977 Earl Hoyt Jr. and Fred Bear
1980 George Helwig
1981 Margaret Klann
1984 Ann Hoyt
1987 Jim Easton and Peter Ueberroth
1989 Robert Rhode
1991 Karl Radde
1993 Harry Drake
1996 Myrtle K. and Edward Miller
2003 Bud Fowkes and Tom Green
2006 Bud Simon
2012 Bob Ryder
2023 Darrell Pace and Sheri Rhodes

Jane Johnson Distinguished Judge Service Award

This award is given to a USA Archery Judge who has made significant contributions to the sport and upholds the greatest ideals of sportsmanship and fair play. This award is peer voted by USA Archery Judges and is presented at the USA Archery National Target Nationals event. This award was named in honor of past National Archery Association president Jane Johnson, who served decades as a judge at the national, continental, international and Olympic levels and embodied all the qualities this award is designed to celebrate.

Year Name
2019 Terry LaBeau
2016 Tom Green
2017 Jane Johnson

George Helwig JOAD Award

The George Helwig JOAD Award is presented to an individual who has shown continuous support of the Junior Olympic Archery Development program throughout the years. Recipients of this lifetime achievement award have gone above and beyond in their involvement and service to the sport of archery and have made a significant impact on their local or surrounding communities.

This award is named after the 1960 founder of JOAD, George Helwig. George was the inaugural recipient of this lifetime honor. In addition to his lifetime support of youth archery, Mr. Helwig participated in three Olympic Games, was active in World Archery for 31 years and received numerous medals, honors and awards.

JOAD Award Nomination Form

Year Name
1986 George Helwig
1987 Ann Clark
1988 Mildred and Charles Pierson
1989 Clayton Shenk
1991 Deborah Blum
1993 Ann Weber Hoyt
1995 Earl Meyers
1998 Lawrence Bud Simon
1999 Don Branson and Christine McCartney
2009 Jane Johnson
2015 Phil Hoelle
2016 Tom Barker
2019 Cindy Bevilacqua


The Margaret Klann Collegiate Coach of the Year Award

Margaret Klann, known as “the mother of collegiate archery,” was the coach at Arizona State University from 1963 to 1976. In 1966, she was instrumental in creating the first national collegiate archery championship and creating the first All-American Team. Coach Klann died in September 2000 and this annual award is presented in her honor. The award is voted on and presented at each year’s Collegiate Outdoor National Championship event.

Year Name School
1975  Margaret L. Klann  Arizona State University
1976  Lorraine Paszczola  San Bernardino Valley College
1977  MaryAnne Schumm  East Stroudsburg State College
1978  Betsy Enger  Mt. San Antonio College
1979  Mildred Ayers  Palomar College
1980  Helen Bolnick  Atlantic Cape Community College
1981  Margaret Horn  James Madison University
1982  Marge Callahan  California State University
1983  Sheri Rhodes  Arizona State University
1984  Sally Caskey  Case-Western Reserve University
1985  Dr. Jack Pate  Pima Community College
1986  Joslyn Brown  Phoenix Community College
1987  Marion Rhodes  Glendale Community College
1988  Julia Bowers  Millersville State University
1989  Frank Thomas  Texas A&M University
1990  Al Lizzio  Columbia University
1991  Karen Cearly  University of Texas
1992  Foster Gorman  Navajo Community College
1993  Bruce Affrunti  Atlantic Cape Community College
1994  Irene Collier  Jenkins University of Texas
1995  Bob Ryder  James Madison University
1996  Norm Gram  Michigan State University
1997  Kathy Eissinger and Frank Thomas  Texas A&M University
1998  Helen Bolnick  Atlantic Cape Community College
1999  No award was given  
2000 tie  Glen Harris  Shoreline Community College
2000 tie  Stan Pennypacker  Penn State University
2001  Tom Parrish  University of Texas
2002 tie  Kathy Eissinger  Texas A&M
2002 tie  Glen Harris  Shoreline Community
2003  Frank Thomas  Texas A&M University
2004  Robert Ryder  James Madison University
2005  Pat Madison  Georgia College and State University
2006  Helen Bolnick  Atlantic Cape Community College
2007  Robert Ryder  James Madison University
2008  Helen Bolnick  Atlantic Cape Community College
2015  Rodney Estrada Georgia Institute of Technology-Yellow Jacket Archery Club
2016  Stanley Cheng University of California
2017  Andy Puckett James Madison University
2018  E.G. LeBre Brandeis University
2019 Josahan Jamie-Sambrano Mount Marty College
2020 Kris Strebeck University of the Cumberlands
2021 Andy Puckett James Madison University
2022 E.G. LeBre Brandeis University

A thank you to our proud sponsors

View All Sponsors

Connect With Us