USA Archery Logo

January 18, 2010

2009 Coach of the Year

USA Archery announced the 2009 USA Archery Coach of the Year honors for National Coach, Development Coach and Volunteer Coach categories. These coaches exemplified excellence in their respective categories over the last year. The coaches were nominated by their peers, athletes and/or parents.

"All of our certified instructors and coaches are all an integral part of the backbone of our sport," said Sheri Rhodes, USA Archery Coach Development Manager. "We had many nominations which had notable achievements in developing athletes and identifying talent which is exciting.  However, these three individuals really shone in their respective categories and we wanted to recognize them for what they have done."

The 2010 class were all first-time recipients who are dedicated to improving the sport of archery. The 2010 Coach of the Year recipients are:

National Coach - Alexander Kirillov, Tucson, Ariz. 

From 1977-1992 Alexander served as a professional coach in his homeland of Russia, coaching archers to World Championship medals and World record holders.  Since 1994, he has been employed at PSE Shooting School where he continues coaching and presenting seminars in the U.S. and internationally.  Some of his recent coaching success can be seen in the performance of archers such as Jennifer Nichols, Anthony Don, Jeff Anderson and Laruen Hughes.

Development Coach - Jim C. Pruitte, Harlem, Ga.

Jim is the leader of the Georgia Archery Team.  He is active in local event management, Columbia County 4-H and Pruitte's Archery.  Some of Jim's coaching success is evidenced by several young archers who are making their mark on the national and international scene:  Garrett Abernethy, Kailey Johnston and Samantha Pruitte.

Volunteer Coach - Steve McKenna, Sandy, Utah.

Steve is one of the co-founders of Datus Nock Offs JOAD program that started in 1998 with seven members and boasts nearly 200 members today.  The Datus club has coached two Jr. World Team members, five JOAD Olympians and two Jr. USAT members. Additionally, Steve has served the Utah state and club association in many leadership roles.

Nominations for the 2010 Coach of the Year award can be submitted to USA Archery at any time throughout the year. The nominated coach must be a USA Archery member and certified instructor/coach in good standing. For more information on the Coach of the Year Awards and a nomination form click here.



< Back to All News

A thank you to our proud sponsors

View All Sponsors

Connect With Us