USA Archery Logo

May 08, 2024

Register for Field Nationals which double as trials for the 2024 World Archery Field Championships

NOBLESVILLE, Ind. – This year’s USA Archery Field Nationals, which will take place from June 2-5 at the picturesque Koteewi Archery Range just north-east of Indianapolis, is also acting as the World Field Trials to determine the USA team for the 2024 World Archery Field Championships in Canada in September.

The Koteewi Archery Range officially opened on June 6, 2015, is nearing its nine-year anniversary and is to host the USA Archery Field Nationals for the first time. Two of the last three years this event has been held in Darrington, Wash., either side of a visit to Yankton, S.D.

Early registration remains open for this event until May 19. The registration deadline is 5pm MDT on May 24.

Field archery involves archers shooting at unmarked as well as marked targets. Unmarked means that in addition to judging the target face's size and angle of shooting, archers also must judge the distance they are shooting at for a truly great challenge.

* * * * * * * *

The World Archery Field Championships were first held in Valley Forge, Pa. in 1969, starting out with just recurve and barebow; compound was admitted in 1990. The 2024 edition marks the first time that Canada has hosted the event, with it being staged in Lac La Biche from September 16-22.

Two years ago the World Archery Field Championships were held in Yankton, where Dave Cousins (pictured) and Paige Pearce collected individual gold in the respective compound divisions. For Pearce it meant back-to-back success after gold at the 2018 edition in Italy. Pearce and Cousins also took compound mixed team gold in 2022.

In the recurve division, Matt Nofel claimed silver. His path to the final involved a semifinal win over teammate Brady Ellison, the winner in 2014 and 2016. Ellison took bronze in the recurve mixed team event, alongside Savannah Vanderwier.

The USA has dominated the compound men’s division, winning gold at nine of the 16 World Archery Field Championships stretching back to 1990. Cousins is a three-time winner, with his first victory coming in Australia in 2002. Jesse Broadwater won in 2012 and 2014, while others to stand atop the podium include Steve Anderson (2016), Rod Menzer (2008), Jeff Button (1996) and Randall Ulmer (1990).

On the recurve side, Olympic champions Jay Barrs and Darrell Pace are among those to win gold at the World Archery Field Championships. Barrs won in successive events, in 1990 and 1992.

< Back to All News

A thank you to our proud sponsors

View All Sponsors

Connect With Us