USA Archery Logo

February 27, 2012

Vote Today: Pace Nominated for Olympic Hall of Fame

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - February 27, 2012 - Darrell Pace, a four time Olympian and two-time Olympic individual champion, has been nominated for induction into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame, presented by Allstate. Voting begins today, and runs through April 9; the public is encouraged to vote for their preferred candidates and teams by visiting Voters will be allowed to vote once per day, per category.

Pace, who is a four-time Olympican, broke five Olympic records at the 1976 and 1984 Olympic Games and won two individual Olympic gold medals. At the age of 16, he became the youngest member of the U.S. team at the world championships, claiming the world title in 1975 and 1979, and becoming the first person in recent archery history to win the title twice. Pace set multiple world records in the FITA and Double FITA rounds, shooting the first score of over 1300 in history (1316), and then shattering the standing world record again in 1979 with 1341. In total, Pace held the FITA world record for 14 years, raising the record a total of 71 points in five years. 

Today, Pace remains active in archery, assisting with teaching JOAD classes in his home state of Ohio, and assisting with tournaments, including having worked as co-director of the National Target Championships in Hamilton, Ohio. He has donated countless hours of time to teaching others about archery, and many archers are grateful for the time he has taken to talk about equipment, tuning and shooting form. 

The nominee list for the Hall of Fame consists of the following 18 individual Olympic athletes, five Paralympic athletes and five teams.

Individual Nominee Finalists

Paralympic Nominee Finalists

Greg Barton, canoe/kayak

Jean Driscoll, track & field

Valerie Brisco, track & field

Sharon Hedrick, track & field

Gail Devers, track & field

David Larson, track & field

Anne Donovan, basketball

Jim Mastro, goalball, judo, track & field, wrestling

Lisa Fernandez, softball

Tony Volpentest, track & field

Gretchen Fraser, alpine skiing


Cammi Granato, ice hockey

Team Nominee Finalists

Gary Hall, Jr., swimming

1976 women's swimming 4x100m freestyle relay

Bill Koch, cross country skiing

1988 men's volleyball

Kristine Lilly, soccer

1996 women's basketball

Dan O'Brien, track & field

1998 women's ice hockey

Darrell Pace, archery

2004 women's softball

Tracie Ruiz-Conforto, synchronized swimming


Terry Schroeder, water polo


John Smith, wrestling


Dawn Staley, basketball


William Steinkraus, equestrian


Jenny Thompson, swimming


"The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame celebrates a commitment to excellence and perseverance and recognizes American athletes who are role models and heroes," said Mark LaNeve, Allstate's chief marketing officer and senior executive vice president of agency operations. "Allstate is proud to protect the legacy of these athletes and their accomplishments while offering fans the chance to play an important role in selecting who will be eternally etched in Olympic history."

Once voting closes, the public vote totals will be added to the vote totals of Olympians, Paralympians and U.S. Olympic Family members to determine the six Olympians, one Paralympian and one team that will make up the 2012 class. The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate Class of 2012 will be announced in May and inducted on July 12 during an induction ceremony at the Harris Theater in Chicago, Ill.

"It is a privilege to introduce this incredibly deserving group of nominees for induction into the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame and an honor to invite the American public to vote for who they want to be a part of the class of 2012," said Scott Blackmun, USOC chief executive officer. "With excitement building ahead of the London Games this summer, there is no better time than now to honor the legacy of the great individual and team performances, and make them a permanent part of U.S. Olympic Team history."

The nominees for the 2012 U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame presented by Allstate class were selected by a nominating committee comprised of individuals representing the following areas of the U.S. Olympic Movement: United States Olympians Association, Athletes' Advisory Council, media members, USOC executive team, USOC Board of Directors, one at-large committee member and a Paralympic sports representative. 

About the USOC
Founded in 1894 and headquartered in Colorado Springs, Colo., the U.S. Olympic Committee serves as both the National Olympic Committee and National Paralympic Committee for the United States. As such, the USOC is responsible for the training, entering and funding of U.S. teams for the Olympic, Paralympic, Youth Olympic, Pan American and Parapan American Games, while serving as a steward of the Olympic and Paralympic Movements throughout the country. For more information, visit

About Allstate
The Allstate Corporation (NYSE: ALL) is the nation's largest publicly held personal lines insurer. Widely known through the "You're In Good Hands With Allstate® " slogan, Allstate is reinventing protection and retirement to help nearly 16 million households insure what they have today and better prepare for tomorrow. Consumers access Allstate insurance products (auto, home, life and retirement) and services through Allstate agencies, independent agencies, and Allstate exclusive financial representatives in the U.S. and Canada, as well as via and 1-800 Allstate®. As part of Allstate's commitment to strengthen local communities, The Allstate Foundation, Allstate employees, agency owners and the corporation provided $28 million in 2011 to thousands of nonprofit organizations and important causes across the United States.

About the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame
The U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was established in 1979 to celebrate the achievements of America's premier athletes in the modern Olympic Games. The first U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame class was inducted in 1983 during ceremonies in Chicago and included Olympic greats such as Bob Beamon, Cassius Clay, Peggy Fleming, Al Oerter, Jesse Owens, Wilma Rudolph, Mark Spitz, Jim Thorpe and the 1980 "Miracle on Ice" men's hockey team. In 2004, after a 12-year hiatus, the U.S. Olympic Hall of Fame was revived through the support of the Allstate Insurance Company as the presenting sponsor. Now every Olympic year, past Olympic athletes, teams, Paralympians, coaches, veterans and special contributors gather to welcome in the newest members of the Hall of Fame.

Written by USOC Communications; edited by Teresa Iaconi / USA Archery. Information on Darrell Pace provided in part by World Archery Communications. 

< Back to All News

A thank you to our proud sponsors

View All Sponsors

Connect With Us